Fire Extinguisher Classifications and Information

There 6 different type of Extinguisher Classification, 5 x Fire and 1 x Electrical.

Fires have been classified into six groups A, B, C, D, E and F

  • Class A fires - are fires involving organic solids - Paper, Wood, etc
  • Class B fires - are fires involving flammable Liquids - Petrol, Oil, Paints.
  • Class C fires - are fires involving flammable Gasses
  • Class D fires - are fires involving Metals
  • Class E Fires - are fires involving Electrical Apparatus
  • Class F Fires - are fires involving Cooking Oil & Fat

Colour Coding

All Fire Extinguishers are colour coded so you can see what type of extinguisher it is and what it contains.

  • Water - Red
  • Foam - Cream
  • Dry Powder - Blue
  • Carbon Dioxide - Black
  • Halon - Green (Illegal as of December 03)

Fire Extinguisher Locations

Fire extinguishers should be stored:

  • in accessible spots
  • away from heat
  • in places in which they are likely to be needed, but where you will still be able to get to them (but out of reach of children) should a fire start, with at least one at every level of the house. Several good choices include:
      • kitchen
      • sleeping area
      • basement
      • at the head of the stairs in a multi-story structure
      • in the garage
      • in the laundry room

To view our Extinguisher range please select the relevant link below.

Water Extinguishers - Class A

Foam Extinguishers - Class A & B

ABC Dry Powder Extinguishers - Class A, B, C & E

Carbon Dioxide CO2 Extinguishers - Class B & E

Wet Chemical Extinguishers - Class F

Same Day Dispatch
Lowest Price Guaranteed
Free UK Delivery over £200*
Secure Online Order Processing
Free Technical Support

Newsletter Signup

Enter your details and we'll occasionally send you special offers and product news.